Author Topic: Help on a black locust bow  (Read 2636 times)

Offline Krp

Help on a black locust bow
« on: November 27, 2017, 09:08:39 am »
I've been working on a black locust bow that I think the back is questionable on. I am wanting to try a backing for the first time.

The bow is 64" ttt and 1 3/4" at the fades tapering down to 1/2" at the nocks. What would be the best backing to use on black locust? Sinew, bamboo, or something else.

Thanks for any advice.

Offline TimBo

Re: Help on a black locust bow
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2017, 09:30:53 am »
If you heat treat the belly, you might get away with sinew or boo (although those combinations don't seem to be common - maybe someone else has tried it and will chime in); otherwise, rawhide would be a much better option. 

Offline GlisGlis

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2017, 10:19:22 am »
I'm not very experienced but BL is stronger in tension than compression
It works well with trapped design
I'd go for a "light" backing(rawhide or silk?).
I fear that boo or sinew could induce chrisalys

Offline aaron

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2017, 10:28:03 am »
another vote for rawhide
Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline Marc St Louis

• Administrator
  • Keep it flexible
    • Marc's Bows and Arrows
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2017, 11:44:48 am »
If you have already started making the bow then trying to work the back down for a Bamboo backing will most likely be a lot of work but Bamboo does work quite well on BL.  Sinew also works quite well on BL and you don't have to worry about getting the back flat
Home of heat-treating, Corbeil, On.  Canada

Marc@Ironwoodbowyer.com

Offline joachimM

• Good - better - broken
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2017, 02:03:20 pm »
What backing materials do you have at your disposition?