Author Topic: Newbie to traditional bows  (Read 2182 times)

Offline Grumpy Bear

Newbie to traditional bows
« on: August 25, 2017, 08:15:51 am »
Hi all,

New to traditional bows.  I have about 30 yrs of archery experience with compound bows and shot a recurve when I was younger.  I purchased my first longbow from from Cabelas about 2 yrs ago...I know, I know don't shoot me please.

So with that being said.  Are there drawings, plans and whatnot for building the bows?  Also I live in Northern VA. So I am looking for appropriate wood to build bows and arrows. I have some maple trees, lots of black gum and oak.  Occasionally I can run across walnut, hickory and cherry.  Can someone please point me in the right direction.   Thanks in advance

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
Re: Newbie to traditional bows
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2017, 08:56:04 am »
Welcome to PA grumpy bear. I really don't have the time right now to explain all you need to know to build a selfbow. If you have zero knowledge I'd suggest watching some YouTube videos. There are actually some pretty good ones out there and you can learn the basics from them. It kinda has its own vocabulary and there's more to it than just whittling out something that looks like a bow. Helps us explain if you know the basics. Lots of good bowyers here very willing to help.

Sorry gotta run now
Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2017, 09:09:28 am »
Welcome to P.A.  I would suggest getting this DVD by Gary Davis.  I wish I had this video when I got started. 

http://www.3riversarchery.com/rattlestick-a-selfbow-tutorial-dvd-by-gary-s-davis.html
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Online BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2017, 09:47:29 am »