Author Topic: first time bow making, need advise  (Read 1296 times)

Offline rhino519

first time bow making, need advise
« on: September 25, 2017, 10:22:53 am »
Hello all,
I've been shooting bows for many years, and building one was something i wanted to do for a long time. after reading Primitive Archer mag, research on line, and talk with fellow archers i finally decided on what i wanted to do; i settled on a board bow for my first project, i picked a 6ft piece of maple, with the diners running in a right direction and begun my project about a year ago, with some delays i finally got to a stage where i'm tillering the stawe, here is my first problem; the only way i can discribe it is that the wood is limp, if i press the bow in opposite direction, then the one it's ment to bend, it remains slightly deflexed, it does not return to its original 'straightness' same thing after excersizing; the limbs will naturally droop in the direction that bow would be strung in.
is this due to wood being still wet? i'm in southern ontario, so air humidity is a problem. how can i correct this if it needs correcting?
at this time the bow is more of a longbow, with 69 1/4in nook to nook, as for pull i don't know it but it's probably in 40-50# range

Offline Stick Bender

Re: first time bow making, need advise
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 10:51:14 am »
Can you take some pics & post a side view pic that would help ?
If you fear failure you will never Try !

Offline rhino519

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2017, 11:01:49 am »
i will try tonight, don't know how to do that from the phone

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2017, 11:04:49 am »