Author Topic: Moisture content of wood for bow making  (Read 5923 times)

Offline Mace-McLatchie

Moisture content of wood for bow making
« on: June 04, 2018, 11:56:52 pm »
I'm fairly new to the craft of bow making. I've made a few and broken them all. I'm cheap and don't like to spend money if I can make it work with what I've got. Several years ago a made a few bows out of various woods but all pieces of kiln dried flooring; Ipe, Hickory, Bamboo. I used to do floors for a living. Like I said before they all cracked after a fair amount of usage. They were about 60# at 27 inches. Well, I'm at it again and this time using Vine Maple I harvested here in the PNW. I can't help but think all those other bows cracked because of the kiln dried wood. And probably some of my tillering skills or lack there of. So finally here is my question:
Does anyone know the ideal moisture content of wood for bow making and maintaining the flexibility over time?
Side note; I also have 1940’s vintage Ben Pearson Hickory child's bow “Cock Robin” that I want to refinish and try to shoot but I'm afraid it will crack unless I can bring the moisture content back up.

Offline TorstenT

Re: Moisture content of wood for bow making
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 02:48:39 am »
The moisture content of wood (I think it’s called equilibrium moisture) depends on the ambient temperature and relative humidity. Kiln dried wood is far too dry, but might still work as bow wood, if you store it (as well as your finished bows) appropriately and give it time to rehydrate and balance out.