Author Topic: Backpack Bow Challenge!  (Read 76451 times)

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
Re: Backpack bow challenge!
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2008, 11:53:06 pm »
I have found that carrying a bow and a spear while hiking pretty much leaves the woods to me  >:D a little black war paint helps too..Hawk  ;D
IT IS BETTER TO LOSE WITH HONOR. THAN TO WIN THROUGH DECEPTION...

Mike "Hawk" Huston

Offline Hickoryswitch

« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2008, 11:55:41 pm »
I was looking at a takedown that length but i guess it would be a little slow to put together. I think i may be able to come up with something,after all i solve problems for a living.
Wayne Silverthorn

Offline D. Tiller

• Go ahead! Bend that stick! Make my day!!!
    • Whidbey Island Soap Co.
« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2008, 12:04:53 am »
Hickory, what do you do that takes so much thinking?
“People are less likely to shoot at you if you smile at them” - Mad Jack Churchill

Offline PatM

« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2008, 12:36:24 am »
The little Japanese bows are Baleen.

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent
« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2008, 01:37:14 am »
I measured my spine to head and came up w/about 36".  I like the idea of a 1 pc 40" bow quick and easy to string.  No takedown to put together.  Drawing about 20-22 inches, 40-45#,  Osage D bow, sinew backed w/ skins to waterproof.  Possibly Black Locust in the same dimensions (Just happen to have a good dry piece).  Do you think this is possible?
Traverse City, MI

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #20 on: April 02, 2008, 02:07:44 am »
I think it is quite funny that you are suggesting it would take to long to stick two pieces of a takedown together, 2 seconds.  You are putting it is a PVC tube with a lid on it that is attached to your backpack. How long does it take to take your backpack off, get the cap off string the bow, pull out and arrow and nock it.  ::)