Author Topic: bitter cherry for bows  (Read 2153 times)

Offline Dante_F

bitter cherry for bows
« on: February 26, 2019, 06:43:06 pm »
so i have a piece of bitter cherry thats about five and a half feet long and maybe 4 inches wide  so i can make it wide and even though i have been steered away from bitter cherry and not to mention im a beginner im probably going to give it a go and my question if i heavily back it do you think it will work. also could i make a similar bow from big leaf maple because my neighbors are taking down their tree.

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
Re: bitter cherry for bows
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2019, 07:40:43 pm »
It's a fruit producer so I'd go for it but if someone else says otherwise hold off until you know.
Russ
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline Woodely

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2019, 07:47:52 pm »
I would be inclined not to use bitter cherry as its somewhat on the brittle side.
"Doing bad work is an exercise in futility, but honestly making mistakes is trying your best."

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2019, 09:22:54 pm »