Author Topic: Twisted Yew Longbow  (Read 5410 times)

Offline SGuise

Twisted Yew Longbow
« on: September 12, 2019, 08:17:46 pm »
This is my first time posting. I have been making bows for about 7 years now.

I made this bow out of a piece of Yew that was twisted by more than 90 degrees from one end to the other and went past a fairly large branch. It actually shoots very well with the large knuckle.

I am regularly told that you can't make a bow out of twisted wood or wood with knots. These are my favorite types of bows to make and shoot. There is a great satisfaction when I go to a 3-D tournament and shoot one of these bows.

The bow is 64" long with simple Ebony tip overlays.
It is 42# at 26".
The limb set is 1 3/4".
« Last Edit: September 13, 2019, 01:00:35 am by SGuise »

Offline upstatenybowyer

Re: Twisted Yew Longbow
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2019, 08:31:37 pm »
Gnarly! Looks great SG. Keep um' comin'  :OK
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2019, 09:03:54 pm »
 :o :o :o (A) (A) (A) (A) (A)

what da heck was wrong with that tree!  ;D

Welcome to PA! I really hope you keep posting your bows because thats just a piece of art!
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline Josh B

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2019, 09:24:42 pm »
I am a fan of character ridden bows!  It would appear that the tiller is a tad off, but you handled the upper limb character superbly.  That rollercoaster section is cool!

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2019, 12:39:06 am »
Yep, waste of time on those knotty staves, you'll never make a bow from it. Nope, you'll never get it to full draw.  It won't last long enough to get a full draw pic.