Author Topic: Unbacked, backed, or scrap?  (Read 1750 times)

Offline Kidder

Unbacked, backed, or scrap?
« on: August 18, 2020, 06:12:39 pm »
So I’m looking at some hickory boards that I have. Some have great grain, and some have, well, character! These pictures are typical of the character boards. I’ve ripped them to 1.75 inches wide. I’m wondering if I can get away with building these unbacked, whether I can build them but need to back them with rawhide, or whether these are purely handle riser boards. Thanks in advance.

Offline dylanholderman

Re: Unbacked, backed, or scrap?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2020, 06:32:27 pm »
i'm by no means a expert with board bows but i don't think that even hickory will tolerate those big knots being violated like that  :o

Offline Kidder

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2020, 06:53:27 pm »
i'm by no means a expert with board bows but i don't think that even hickory will tolerate those big knots being violated like that  :o

I’m confident I can avoid the actual knots or put them in the handles. I’m more concerned with all the wavy grain on limbs. I should have mentioned that in the original post.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2020, 08:55:43 pm »
Save that board for another project and get a new stave for your bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2020, 11:52:26 pm »
Only have one hickory bow made, but I agree with Pat B!  That would make a heck of a bow rack with a bit of work and hand rubbed finish!  Get a stave with a bit less character for a bow!  IMHO!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

bownarra

« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2020, 12:15:27 am »
Junk for an actual bow....

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2020, 06:52:48 am »
Bamboo back them and they will be OK. People will say that runout will fail under bamboo but this hasn't been the case from my experience.