Author Topic: Cut two hickory logs today, advice?  (Read 1079 times)

Offline Tradslinger

• Trad hunt, fish, metal detect, reload, garden, Vet
Cut two hickory logs today, advice?
« on: February 08, 2021, 07:23:14 pm »
One is 62" and the other is 61". it was a whole log that was 10'4" until I cut it in half. it was about 6" in diameter at the base and about 4" at the small end. I am thinking about debarking sometime this week or maybe next week and then splitting them into staves. I may even rough some out with a hatchet before letting them dry. but I have never done this before nor used hickory. so clueless except for a video or two.

Offline TimBo

Re: Cut two hickory logs today, advice?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2021, 07:30:10 pm »
Well, my advice would be to glue the pieces back together so you have a longer bow, then glue it back to the stump it so you can cut it during the summer...getting the bark off in the winter is a real bugger.  Sorry neither of those are very useful bits of advice!  Otherwise, split them, seal the ends, and start working on debarking.  (I split before debarking, as bark protects the backs of the staves while you are wooling them around to split.)

Offline Jakesnyder

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2021, 07:47:01 pm »
If you have a mediocre pressure washer you can get the cambium right off and have a prestine back. Just take off the bark with a draw knife and pressure wash it. I have not been able to do this method with a seasoned stave though.

Offline M2A

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2021, 09:48:02 am »
I agree with Timbo as far as splinting and sealing ends now, in that order. Then, at this time of the year I would have weeks/months during the winter to remove bark before the need to be concerned about insect damage. So I'd work on 1 stave a day removing bark until complete. If nice staves you should have enough length to make some dandy bend through the handle bows for average draw lenght and poundage. Thats what I'd do. Good luck.