Author Topic: Osage and Dry heat? Revisited  (Read 4515 times)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Osage and Dry heat?
« Reply #30 on: January 19, 2023, 10:52:20 am »
I never use oil to prevent checking, it won't. That's what the shellac on the back is for and it has for me.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #31 on: January 19, 2023, 12:00:41 pm »
I never use oil to prevent checking, it won't. That's what the shellac on the back is for and it has for me.

I haven’t either Pat. I always thought it was to keep the scorch marks from happening.

I don’t know for positive if it does anything to cure checking on back seeing I’ve never tried it before, but I don’t understand how it would applied to belly if it does. I have used oil on back when I didn’t have anything else to seal a freshly chased ring.

Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #32 on: January 20, 2023, 08:31:23 am »
I need to retract my statement that I never get checking on dry heat corrections and change it to very seldom get checking.

I went out to the shop yesterday to work on a bow that I had trouble with belly cracking when I tried to bend in the recurves and there it was; a little 1" check on the back where I made the most extreme bend. I tried the bend twice and got belly splintering both times. I went out to the shop to file off the splintered wood and glue an underlay on to build the wood back up.

It was then that I thought back and remembered a few staves over the years that did indeed get a small check or two, I remembered that I kept a tube of superglue close at hand on these staves and instantly put a puddle of superglue over any crack that started to form no matter how small.

Sorry for mis-information, at 75 these senior moments come around more and more often for me.

Offline bentstick54

« Reply #33 on: January 20, 2023, 08:59:09 am »