Author Topic: Sturgeon accented boo yew  (Read 3050 times)

Offline Kidder

Sturgeon accented boo yew
« on: September 24, 2023, 02:22:20 pm »
Here is another boo yew I recently finished. Awhile back a gentleman asked if I would build him a yew bow. I obliged and he sent me a stave he had sitting around for the last 10 years. Unfortunately that stave posed some significant difficulties for me - sideways bend in excess of 5 inches, extremely varying thickness sapwood - some places 1/16” others nearly an inch. Well I worked in it until it eventually earned a place in the corner of frustration. So I opted to build him a boo yew in hopes that it would suffice. This bow is 40# at 30”. 70” TTT. Overlays are Buffalo horn and the accents are sturgeon skin. I hate applying sturgeon skins as they always seem to pop off the first time. Seems the skins absorb all the glue. They seem to stick well on the second try though. Anyways, hope he likes it.
Sturgeon backed boo yew by B Kidd, on Flickr

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Sturgeon accented boo yew
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2023, 02:41:29 pm »
Very nice bow with beautiful tiller.  :OK   If he doesn't like it, send it to me.  ;D
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline PaSteve

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2023, 03:06:51 pm »
Another beautiful bow, Kidder. Agree with Pat on the tiller. Curious as to the type of glue you're using for the skins. I was advised by a very experienced source to use a hide or fish glue when working with sturgeon skins and I have to say I've had excellent results with hide glue. Anyway, great job on the bow.
"It seems so much more obvious with bows than with other matters, that we are the guardians of the prize we seek." Dean Torges

Offline superdav95

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2023, 12:10:17 am »
Yup very nice work kidder.  Tiller looks spot on to me too.   
Sticks and stones and other poky stabby things.

superdav95@gmail.com