Author Topic: harvesting cane?  (Read 2717 times)

Offline deersled

harvesting cane?
« on: July 21, 2008, 02:03:48 pm »
I am brand new to this sight. Don't know jack-diddly! But, man this stuff is COOOOL!!! I now know what "river" cane is. I've found plenty of it on my hunting club here in Georgia.  Can ya'll give a run down of the do's/don'ts of harvesting river cane?

What's the diff. b/w immature and mature,  best time of year to cut it, etc? I'm working on straightening some and man......it is not as easy as you guys make it sound!

Any info. is greatly appreciated.

Kevin

Offline n2everythg

Re: harvesting cane?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2008, 03:42:31 pm »
There are others here who have more experience than I and will chime in. I probably dont go about it in the most efficient mode but it works for me.

Some guys say cut in the winter. I harvest it any time I need arrows and havnt noticed much difference. Maybe it drys a bit faster in the winter.

cut it long. that way you can take the section that bends the best (spine) for your bow. I usually cut it approx 4 feet long. It will become apparent quickly when you have too big or way to small diameter.
after a bit you can tell approx how much diameter works the best.

Either straighten a bit every few days while drying or wait til it drys out. Usually takes least a month for mine to dry completely.

I use a heat gun that concentrates the heat while straightening. many other methods of heat will work as well.

here is a pretty good link to get you started.
http://groups.msn.com/ferretsarcherywebpage/rivercanearrows.msnw

when the cane is completely dry it is easy to straighten using heat. when you have the heat just right the cane sweats and smells nice.
N2
N2
East Coast of Nowhere

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2008, 06:05:19 pm »
I know Jack Diddly...cool guy. ;)