Author Topic: 5 Curve, Cupid bow, ash-sinew-cherrybark  (Read 13857 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Re: 5 Curve, Cupid bow, ash-sinew-cherrybark
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2008, 12:09:16 pm »
What a fine bow. Looks like the recurves are working not static.
Great pictures....but I wish you could take your full draw pictures closer up >:D
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

a finnish native

« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2008, 01:26:56 pm »
This is one nice bow.
From what I have heard/read the plains indians did use this desingn. not all of them of course but a few tribes. For example the Nez-Perce and the Spokane tribes ahd some bows of this design. The nez-perce had a special bow of this design that was made from the horn of mountainsheep and backed with sinew. But for example the Spokane (soshone is also mentioned in the text) had these types of bows made from wood and backed with sinew. One of these is featured in a paint portrait of a Spokane chief painted by Paul Kane in 1847. The chief was called Tum-se-ne-ho, In english The Man Without Blood.

Ranger B

« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2008, 01:43:50 pm »
Nice bow...that is some incredible bending. 

Offline YewArcher

« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2008, 03:05:22 pm »
Thanks for all the kind words guys. She sure is a nice bow.

Finnish. The devil is in the details. They did use bows similar to these espically the nez-perce........except no recurves.

Steve

a finnish native

« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2008, 03:18:28 pm »
I was talking about gull winged bows WITH recurves. or 5 curve bows if you will.
The recurves on your bow are quite dramatic. so maybe the recurves were not as dramatic, but they were there in some bows.

Offline YewArcher

« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2008, 03:38:14 pm »