Author Topic: bamboo backing for horse bow???  (Read 4967 times)

Shadow Walker

bamboo backing for horse bow???
« on: March 15, 2009, 06:14:43 pm »
Can anyone offer some advise on this? I am building a horse bow (sort of). I have the core fished and it's really a reflex/deflex desiign. The core is comprised of maple laminated between two layers of bamboo. Everything is glued together with hide glue (AWESOME STUFF!!!) I have the syahs attached. The bow is 52'' nock to nock.
I've got a nice tiller on it at this stage.
I was wondering if I could substitute the horn belly for bamboo. If I left the rine on the bamboo, would it give enough ''spring'' to the bow? ( I'm thinking it would be lighter as well?) I willl be backing the bow with sinew.
Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

Offline wvbowhntr

Re: bamboo backing for horse bow???
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2009, 06:33:20 pm »
Im no expert but I believe bamboo is better in tension than compression. so it makes a great backing but i dont know if i would use it for a belly core, but if you do let us know how it turns out.
As for me and my house we will serve The Lord.  Greg in WV

nickf

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2009, 06:55:01 pm »
bamboo is incredibly strong in tension, but be sure to keep the nodes on. Justin Snyder backed a real ipe- shorty with it, and drew it pretty far. But for a (heavier)horsebow I suggest some layers of sinew, since it will get some serious bend. The boo will work as a belly, especially if you temper it. Again it's better to leave the nodes on.

Nick

Offline james parker

• Global Moderator
    • huntworthyproductions
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2009, 07:30:00 pm »