Author Topic: Montana tree's?  (Read 4602 times)

Offline Hoodoo

Montana tree's?
« on: March 29, 2009, 04:15:33 pm »
I Live in Missoula nestled in the western part of the great state of Montana. I am new to bow making and am starting off by purchasing woods nesassary to fulfill this task. As i Gain Knowledge and wisdom on bow making i would like to begin to cut my own wood. I Know how to cut and treat the wood, but i am curious on what trees are availible in my region. I know Yew is hard to come by and have stpotted some in the bitterooot, but other than yew what are my choices for a good bow wood?

Thanks,
Trey

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Montana tree's?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2009, 05:46:10 pm »
possibly juniper, service berry and hazelnut. ???
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline JustAim

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2009, 05:52:39 pm »
Hackberry and also maybe maple and elm if you got any over there. But l'm not sure  :-\

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2009, 06:18:26 pm »
Trey, i am an old bitterroot boy.. Blodgett canyon has some great yew,about fifteen miles up the trailhead near the lake... that is directly west of Hamilton.. also serviceberry makes a great bow.... I am not much of a bowyer but ruined some great staves when I was a youngun ;D ;) hope this helps... Hawk
IT IS BETTER TO LOSE WITH HONOR. THAN TO WIN THROUGH DECEPTION...

Mike "Hawk" Huston

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2009, 07:09:14 pm »
Trey, get yourself a Audubon Field Guide for Western Trees. It will give lots of identifying information with pics, pen drawings and descriptions.     
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2009, 10:36:03 pm »
I live in Missoula!