Author Topic: Anybody cut bow wood in Georgia or Southern MO (or N Arkansas)  (Read 9327 times)

oak

Just wondering if anybody cuts wood in either state.  I am trying to get into bow making and would like to get some staves.  I am new to Georgia so I don't know anybody out here or really good trees to cut out here.  I'm from California and most of what we had where I lived was Oak and most of what I would have ever had an opportunity to cut wouldn't have been great for bows.

I'm kinda hoping that somebody out here cuts there own and I might be able to get some for helping with the cutting and splitting.  Also some instruction in the native hardwoods suitable would be nice.  I also mention Southern MO because I have a 10 acre farm there that is getting overrun and hasn't seen major property clearing since my dad bought it around '70, it is in Ozark county about 20 miles north of the Arkansas border.

Blake

PS: I'm young and able bodied, have tools, access to a 15 foot trailer ;D, and a pretty big truck :) with a short bed:( (thus being why the trailer is such a good thing)

Offline jignfrog

Re: Anybody cut bow wood in Georgia or Southern MO (or N Arkansas)
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2007, 11:29:00 pm »
Hey Blake

I am in Marshfield, Missouri a little north of where your land is. But if you want to come up sometime I will show you what I have and what some trees around here look like I am sure we can find something you will like. Just PM me and we can set up a time to meet. I am not sure what kind of wood is in Georgia but I bet there will be someone respond that will know about trees down there. Good luck

Ron
Bruner Missouri

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2007, 01:09:33 pm »