Author Topic: A different splice?  (Read 2780 times)

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
A different splice?
« on: November 27, 2011, 10:39:55 am »
I have two osage billets that are only 1 5/8" x 1 5/8 x 42". Is there another strong joint I could use besides a "z"? I have zero experience using anything but a "z". I thought about brass sleeves, but I dont believe I have enough stock to make them work. I am going to glue a handle section on so the back will be secured. 

Thanks!
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

TurtleCreek

Re: A different splice?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 11:06:47 am »
  I haven't used a splice yet, but what about the splice that was used in the pick axe handle bow article in the latest PA mag?

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2011, 11:08:16 am »
Thats the one that got me thinking Ryan. It looks like it would work great with narrow billets.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2011, 12:50:12 pm »
You have to narrow the handle area on spliced billets to almost finished handle size or chance loosing most of your splice shaping the handle later.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2011, 12:55:30 pm »
 a simple 'V' splice always worked well for me.....
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2011, 01:22:10 pm »
I have replaced limbs using a Z splice on osage bows with a lot less wood to work with than you have. I use urac, top the splice off with a glued on handle and have never had one come apart.

Here is an example.

Start.