Author Topic: Hickory/purpleheart  (Read 7408 times)

Offline Kviljo

• Archaeologist, Antitheist
Hickory/purpleheart
« on: August 30, 2007, 08:23:24 pm »
I just glued up a hickory/purpleheart flatbow. I've never tried purpleheart before, and only heard of it used as a mid-lam, but I thought I'd give it a go anyway.
It's incredibly heavy though, so there's nothing wrong with it's density, hehe, but I fear it's not too elastic.
Any experiences or predictions?

I'll post some more pictures tomorrow night when I'll start bending it.

« Last Edit: August 30, 2007, 09:26:32 pm by kviljo »

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
Re: Hickory/purpleheart
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2007, 09:49:48 pm »
I think you will be fine.  I have backed purple heart with bamboo, I don't see a huge difference.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2007, 10:58:44 pm »
I have a piece of purple heart that would be perfect for a hickory backed flat bow. Looking forward to your progress.   Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline medicinewheel

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2007, 03:18:34 am »

i heard it frets easy, but i also know bows have been made from purple heart succesfully.
frank
Frank from Germany...

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2007, 10:08:30 am »
Don't know but it should be pretty if it works,I know purple heart handles sure do.
Good luck. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline bobnewboy

• https://www.flickr.com/photos/bob_d14/
    • The Company of Sixty Field Archers
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2007, 11:47:45 am »