Author Topic: rawhide cord backing  (Read 1081 times)

Offline TexPat

rawhide cord backing
« on: December 12, 2022, 11:26:08 am »
Long time reader, first time poster here.

I am fairly new to bow building and am exploring some backing options. I am really interested in cord backing. I know the TBB guys have some anecdotes about backing with silk cord or nylon as a way to shift the neutral plane and take some tension off the back. I was thinking about using some rawhide lacing (1/8, 1/4, or 1/2 inch wide) to loop between the nocks. In theory, it seems like it would dry into some recurve, which could get rid of the need for the winding of the cordage. The only thing I am thinking could be an issue would be the the stretch or recovery properties of rawhide in that configuration. I know people use rawhide with glue in a single layer.

If anybody has any experience with cord backing or rawhide cord backing in particular, I would love to hear your thoughts!

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: rawhide cord backing
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2022, 08:03:12 pm »
it doesnt sound like a good idea to me,,but have never tried it,, the best way to find out is try it, shoot it through a chronograph and see how it performs,,

Offline Aksel

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2022, 04:45:46 am »
TexPat: I think it sounds like a very interesting idea to try. Donīt let opinions of others make up your mind.

Iīll be very interested to see what you find out. Thatīs the whole charm of bow making - to try for yourself and find out and share it with the rest of us. Donīt worry about a chronograph. Once you have made enough bows you will be able to tell if itīs a good idea or not. Also, you never know what ideas you stumble upon along the way.

Iīve been thinking about cable backings myself recently. Might give it a go.

Do it and let us know how itīs going!

Stoneagebows

Offline bradsmith2010

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2022, 01:52:38 pm »