Author Topic: Need a suggestion for starter Stave  (Read 3320 times)

Offline Charlesmaximus

• Charles Hambrock
Need a suggestion for starter Stave
« on: June 20, 2013, 11:18:19 pm »
Hello people of Primitive Archery!  I am completely new to this art form.  That being said, I want to know if you guys have any suggestions on a type of tree to use for a first attempt.  I have a Mulberry tree I may be able to cut down on my property.  I live in East Central Indiana near the Ohio line.  Any and all suggestions are much appreciated, thanks.

-Charles
Married, and raising two ornery children. Is there time left over for bow-making?

Offline Thesquirrelslinger

Re: Need a suggestion for starter Stave
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2013, 11:26:17 pm »
Try a board stave, they make learning easier- no knots, humps, dips, etc. But mulberry will make a GOOD bow. Its a cousin of Osage, which is an amazing bow wood.  Choose a piece of hardwood(hickory, ash, red oak) with parallel rings on the back(a series of parallel lines running down the back). It will help you learn tillering without ruining expensive and hard to get tree staves.
Black locust teaches you to tiller, pretty much any hardwood makes a good flatbow- ash, elm, hickory, black locust, honey locust, oak, hard maple... the list goes on. I just started making hunting-weight bows a few years ago... Red oak 1x2 makes a nice good longbow. I don't live too far from you, find your nearest Home Depot and get a 70" red oak 1x2. Then leave the central 12" full width, then narrow to 1 1/4 9 inches from tip, then narrow to 1/2"tips.  thin as neccessary to get correct tiller. That makes a nice, fast, low-set longbow. Also- with red oak, you want to keep the belly as flat as possible.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2013, 11:47:26 pm by Thesquirrelslinger »
"Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results"

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2013, 11:37:47 pm »