Author Topic: New Bowyer in CO looking for wood (ELB)  (Read 1529 times)

Hoarfrost

New Bowyer in CO looking for wood (ELB)
« on: August 29, 2013, 05:41:16 pm »
Hello everyone,

I'm new to bowyery and live south of Denver, Colorado. So far I've made a red oak board bow from the big box lumber store. It turned out pretty well but I'd like to try my hand at making a bow from a stave. I bought the TBB's 1-4 and have been enjoying reading those, (I read the tillering chapter last night and learned a lot for next time).

I am interested in the English Longbow style and would like to find some wood that would allow me to make an unbacked 6' tall 160# 60# at 30" hunting ELB. I was hoping someone nearby might have some wood? I don't have much to trade but maybe we could work something out. Thanks!

Michael
« Last Edit: August 29, 2013, 09:27:39 pm by Hoarfrost »

Offline rockrush69

• i want to live in a tipi and hunt for my food
    • facebook.com/flingahbows
Re: New Bowyer in CO looking for wood (ELB)
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 06:39:42 pm »
Hey bud . Just wanted to tell you . You can get strieght grain red cedar 1x2"x6' and strieght grain hickory 1/4"x2x6' and glue them together hickory as the back cedar as the belly ... and then work it just like yew wood it makes an exelent elb... and you should be able to get those woods at a lumber yard . I hope i was helpfull ... also if you want to buy yew wood . The chepest i have found and good quality too . Is medicine bow woods . Google him . Names dave . Super nice old man .
JESSE "HALF CHEROKEE" RUSH
The rabbit lost his tail cause the fox tricked him and told him to stick it thru the ice to catch fish he became stuck and the bear snatched him out by his ears leaving his bushy tail behind and streching his long ears... Cherokee story "how the rabbit lost his tail" :)

Hoarfrost

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2013, 06:55:52 pm »