Author Topic: Barberry Self Bow (Berberis vulgaris)  (Read 6848 times)

Offline rockynz

Barberry Self Bow (Berberis vulgaris)
« on: May 24, 2014, 10:02:15 pm »
Hi all,

i'm new to PA and this will be my first bow! I have to say that these are the best forums I've ever been a member of. So much talent on here I've hardly been able to stop reading since I joined!

I'd like to make a longbow from a log of Barberry I cut about a month ago. I was going to let it season for a lot longer but have noticed it has started splitting along its length. I'm thinking I should maybe split it now and rough out the staves to relive the stress as it drys? Here are a few pics of the log, any help about how I should go about it would be much appreciated. The log is 69" long by approx. 5" diam.

Cheers
rocky

Offline Crogacht

Re: Barberry Self Bow (Berberis vulgaris)
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2014, 07:39:27 pm »
Where's your bow?! Have you got the finish on it yet? How does it shoot?  ;)

Offline rockynz

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2014, 09:54:10 pm »
 :laugh: LOL, I learnt a lesson there man! First off the log did not split as I wanted it to so ended up with only one real good stave. I debarked it and roughed it out with the axe and sealed the back and ends. Maybe did not use enough sealer as there are cracks all along the back now!! :'( Anyway I had a look at the other bit I split off and may be able to get something out of it. Have split it again into two small staves and left the bark on. So far they look ok, so fingers crossed!

I'm going to split up my Lanewood log tonight so that will dry a bit quicker so hope i don't have the same problems there. Its a huge log 85"long and almost 7" diam. so hope I don't wreck it. You don't find Lancewood like that everyday!

Anyway will post here again as soon as I get to do some more with the Barberry! How's your bow coming along?

Offline Crogacht

« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2014, 10:03:14 pm »