Author Topic: What Weight to Shoot  (Read 7862 times)

steve25

What Weight to Shoot
« on: March 02, 2008, 12:59:17 am »
All, I'm new to trad bow and have been invited to my first shoot. I will borrow a bow and plan on  great fun. My question is, I plan on doing monthly 3d shoots. I also plan to go after deer. What draw weight should I consider? 40/45. I'm 55 and if I spend big bucks for a good bow I want to be able to draw it for a few years.

Offline david w.

Re: What Weight to Shoot
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 01:05:11 am »
go with the heaviest draw yo can shoot acurately at 25 yards before falling off

but if you want to shoot it when youre old >:D  i would go in the 40# range
These pretzels are making me thirsty.

if it dont go fast...chrome it - El Destructo

Offline Coo-wah-chobee

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2008, 01:23:18 am »
 50 #'s will take deer sized game and thin skinned game. Ifn ya can place yer arra where ya want it will kill everything ya probably will hunt. Ya dont need heavy weight draws its placement of the arra that matters. Ifn ya practice with 50 #'s you can shoot it fer many years. Your bodies muscles will adapt and become stronger. Good luck........bob

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2008, 10:23:40 am »
Check your state regs to see what the minimum draw weight for hunting is-it's 40# here, but I'd go with 45-50# if possible. That's a good range that will put an arrow through a deer, and still be comfortable to shoot on a 30-target 3D range.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline kayakfisher

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2008, 11:58:49 am »
Steve I am not really sure of the State regs are here in Mo I wouldn't go under #40 I do know that stone points are also legal in this State

Dennis
The river of life twist and bends, you never know whats around the next bend till your there