Author Topic: Birch bow attempt  (Read 1552 times)

Offline paulc

Birch bow attempt
« on: August 06, 2020, 07:44:19 am »
Anyone have any advice, other than don't use birch :-)  This is my first attempt-using the worst stave to learn on.  Pretty sure it is destined for the burn pile but maybe not.  It is pretty straight but it definitely have a good bit of prop twist in one limb.  If I were to try to steam out the twist would I steam the entire limb, or just the area where the most of the twist is located..?  And with all that is going on in that one limb not I am not use I should even try.  Stave is close to 70" long currently, about 1.5" wide and about .75" think most of the limb length.

Any thoughts?  Thanks, Paul

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Birch bow attempt
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2020, 07:59:46 am »
Keep it long and as wide as possible the full width then taper the last 6" to 8" from the tips. Heat treat is well before you go too far into the tillering process.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline willie

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2020, 05:13:01 pm »
I dont bother to split birch. sawing seems to work.

keeping a uniform  thickness while trying to take the twist out seems like a good idea. maybe reduce some from the 3/4 i,f you can,  before steaming the limb

if you want you can steam more than just the local area . It's hard to tell from your pics just where the twist needs fixing.

the pipe wrench with a weight thing works while steaming too.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2020, 02:48:47 am by willie »

Offline paulc

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2020, 09:54:22 am »
Not sure these pics show you anything useful....where I see the need for steam bending is right on the knots so worried the wood won't handle the stress of steamed corrections and then bending....thoughts?
Just go for it..?

Paul

Offline zoomer

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2020, 11:40:29 am »