Author Topic: Getting started on a chunk  (Read 4984 times)

Papa Matt

Getting started on a chunk
« on: July 14, 2008, 10:15:21 am »
Brothers,

I am new to flintknapping and am trying to get set up right. I have several fist-sized chunks of flint. My question is, to break smaller pieces of of these, can I use a thick whitetail antler base about 8 inches long? I know most people use a copper bopper but I don't have any and I know there must be a way without copper because the natives didn't always have copper. But my chunks are pretty thick and I wonder if a thick piece of antler will work to break off smaller chunks. Any advice?

-Matt

Offline Otoe Bow

• Mike Chase, Afghanistan
Re: Getting started on a chunk
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 10:54:37 am »
Just about any thing that is solid and dense, yet have a soft enough surface to "grab" the platform ever so slightly will work.  Hammer stones such as rounded river cobbles, antler or even clubs made of wood such as dogwood all work.  I currently use copper, but have used hammer stones.  The reason I use copper is most of the rock in my area is sandstone and too soft.  They make good abraders but that's about it. 

Good luck and post results. 

Mike
So far, I haven't found any Osage or knappable rock over here.  Embrace the suck

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2008, 11:00:54 am »