Author Topic: Board bow backing question  (Read 6429 times)

Offline Aries

Board bow backing question
« on: November 02, 2008, 02:20:31 pm »
I just now bought two six foot bilateral ringed red oak boards from ol home depot, they are good boards and the rings  edges are parallel down the length of the broad side of the board, and have no run offs.  Would it still be suggested that i back these guys, and if so what do ya'll think with? I have no experience with board bows. I'm probably gonna work them into d bows.  The two boards are 2x1's.. , how much draw weight do you think i could get out of em?  Thanks for the tips, i thought i'd try somethin new for once lol  ty
« Last Edit: November 02, 2008, 03:57:32 pm by Aries »
"If the only tool you have is a hammer,
                   you tend to see every problem as a nail."
                               ~Abraham Maslow

Offline aruge

Re: Board bow backing question
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 06:43:30 pm »
I'm on my second board bow. I've backed them both with 100% linen, glued on with Tite bond 3. The guys on the site say you can use about anything, from a paper bag to silk, burlap, about anything. George will also tell you that you don't have to back a good board with anything. You might want to look at his website. He's got instructions for a board bow there. A D bow is the way to start with a board. Hope this helps.  Al

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2008, 12:22:33 am »
They sound like they don't need  a backing. I only tell beginners to back their first few bows-log or stave. Jawge
http://georgeandjoni.home.comcast.net/~georgeandjoni/
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Canoe

• Progress - Not Perfection
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2008, 07:50:56 pm »
Howdy Group, Aruge, and George T.,

I just backed my first bow, I used silk.  It's an ELB-type Red Oak, and it's 72" long, and is 1-7/16" wide at the handle.

Question: