Author Topic: Sassafras board  (Read 3425 times)

Offline hedgeapple

Sassafras board
« on: April 22, 2009, 01:18:32 am »
A friend just gave me a sassafras board 3/4 in thick.  The growth rings do a half moon pattern on the end of the board just like on stave that you would chase the rings.  If the board was thicker and I was more skilled at ring chasing, I might attempt doing that.  But right now I'm interested is using it for a board bow.  What would be a good wood choice for the backing of sassafras, or maybe even another material that would work well in humidity of KY?
Dave   Richmond, KY
26" draw

Badbill

Re: Sassafras board
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2009, 01:37:35 am »
Well, I'm going to give you my opinion even though I'm pretty new at this. Mostly cause I'm hoping someone with more experience will come along and tell me if Iam right or wrong. My understanding of Hickory which seems to be a very common backing is that it doesn't do well in humid climates. Boo does but may overpower the Sassafras, depending on its thickness. There are other types of backings such as linen and silk, just about any cloth, I just named a few. Then there is the dreaded "fg" that we can't talk about without angering the P.A. gods. If you are going to chase a ring you may not even have to back it, depending on the weight you are shooting for. Hope this helps, Hope i'm close. LOL. ;D

Offline hedgeapple

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2009, 01:55:58 am »
Thanks Badbill, I understand the perils of hickory.  But, from what I've read here, the humidity in KY will make it sluggish.  One a dry, cold winter day we may have humidity in the 30's; summers 70-90+ per cent.  The rings on the sassafras are TOO thin for me to attempt.  Silk or linen backing might be options.  Rawhide and sinew might fall pray to the humidity.  I was thinking BL or oak as wood backing???
Dave   Richmond, KY
26" draw

Offline DustinDees

• the kingdom of bahrain, deployed
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2009, 02:19:27 am »