Author Topic: CRT andTV hazard  (Read 1765 times)

Offline outback118

CRT andTV hazard
« on: January 18, 2011, 02:38:37 pm »
. Hi all , I've been knapping for about 2 years now and cant wake up. I live in nw PA , no good rock within 200 miles But I did find a local that sells only 30 miles from me and  I save on shipping cost.

What concerns me is  I have seen Post here and on other sites that people are saying to use CRT and tv glass. This stuff is classified buy the EPA as hazardous waste. You cant put it in a land fill and should be recycled.

the Glass is leaded Glass and has lead content as high as 80% in some parts to shield the X-rays made buy the tube.

the coating on the inside is phosphorus and may contain cadmium and other heavy metals.

another hazard is a tube like that can act as a capacitor and hold a charge of like 25,000 volts , my electronics teacher in highschool slipped wile discharging one and set his underwear on fire.

most knappers I met are concerned with scilacoacis and thats bad enough for me lacing it with lead and other deadly heavy metals is not for me. There  are too many other things i can use to work with.

Well, I don’t want to sound like a tree hugger, Just want to be safe.

Offline Outbackbob48

Re: CRT andTV hazard
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2011, 05:45:39 pm »
Hey Outback, I am also from nw penna an I hear ya about no rock in area. I also drive to rock dealer an try to beat the cost of shipping but with the price of gas an 4x4 gas guzzling ford 150 I not sure I am saving much, What part of Pa. are you from, I,m from just south of Erie. Later Bob

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2011, 06:56:07 pm »
That's interesting about the TV glass. Did not know that, just always liked the smoke color hmm. What is CRT?
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Lombard

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2011, 07:01:28 pm »
Cathode Ray Tube = CRT