Author Topic: Need some help  (Read 1446 times)

Offline Cade

Need some help
« on: July 15, 2017, 05:49:28 pm »
I'm working on my fourth bow and decided to try something new. I'm hoping for this to be my hunting bow for the upcoming fall and have noticed a lot of really sharp looking bows with flipped tips and really love that design. I've got it about half way floor tillered and am wondering what my next course of action should be. Also, I need some corrections with the allignment and could use any tips for that you guys are willing to offer. The final thing is that this blank has decent sized deflexed then reflexes portion that I'm not sure how to deal with.  I've done hardly any heat bending/corrections so I'm pretty new to the whole process but have a heat gun so would like to use dry heat.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Need some help
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 06:32:30 pm »
First, what wood is this bow blank?  That will help determine which method to use.
 If you want to retain the natural reflex you may need to make a reflexed caul to do your heat corrections on. You can make a simple one with a 2x4 cut with an arch, lengthwise. Then you can clamp the handle to the center of the caul and work out each limb with the heat gun and more clamps. Once both limbs are done give it a few days to cool and rehydrate.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Cade

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2017, 06:52:07 pm »
It's Osage, 56" ttt if that affects anything. And if I make a caul, with that allow me to align the tips?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2017, 08:24:39 pm »
Yes. you can move the limbs with wedges to get the bow lined up, tip to tip.
Osage reacts very well to dry heat. I sometimes coat the area to he heated with cooking oil to help prevent scorching, distribute the heat better and to help hold the heat longer.