Author Topic: Palm Logs  (Read 2817 times)

Offline wolfsire

Palm Logs
« on: April 04, 2008, 12:31:51 am »
Well, the disease got the better of  me.  Ive been wanting to make a palm bow, especially because I constantly see the trees for free on craigslist.  Unfortuatly, they are always too big to dig up and haul off.  On the way home today, I was a pile of cut up palm logs.  I grabbed the longest one in the bunch.  It is the one standing up in the next to the pile.  I havent measured it yet, but I would estimate three feet tall, maybe a bit more, and eight inches in diameter.  I figured I could cut off some billets, but not sure the best way, or the specific best part, other than the outer portion.

How would you go about making a bow from this?

Steve in LV, NV

Offline 1/2primitive

• Bible believing Christian
Re: Palm Logs
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 01:21:57 am »
I'm no expert, but I would make sure it is a good stong palm first, do a bend test or make a mini bow to test the flexibility of it, then go from there.
     Sean
Dallas/Fort Worth Tx.

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2008, 01:53:02 am »
I would start by cutting all that checking off the ends to see if you have any good wood left.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Rich Saffold

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2008, 02:51:26 pm »
Most palms are to light and stringy to work as bows. What you need are Coconut and Date Palms. There are several varieties which work, and they have a much denser grass in them since it's not really a wood. The palms I have used are 6-7" in diameter and grow up to 25' tall.

In the early 90"s I wrote and article for PA " In the Palm of my Hand" about my adventure of making my first Senegal Date Palm bow. Popping off the bark is some a$$ busting work, but the bow was real fast. Took it to Mojam#3 and drew a fair amount of attention..

Rich-

Offline wolfsire