Author Topic: Hunting Arrows  (Read 10991 times)

roofus

Hunting Arrows
« on: December 05, 2008, 04:17:56 pm »
I am researching building a new longbow for hunting. I also want to build my own arrows.
Are there any instructional materials out there that you would recommend. I am new to building for primitive archery but I am a serviceable craftsman so I don't necessarily need overly elementary material.
Thanks for any feedback. Knowledge from real experience is priceless!!!

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
Re: Hunting Arrows
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 04:49:04 pm »
If you are researching medieval style equipment, then the following videos may be of interest:

---http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxeFvDgXE54
---http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pffhKIuuQX8&feature=related
---http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtTyOf8OCKg&feature=related
---http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aB0jkfI27Ew&feature=related

In the last video (above) the same technique can be used for making a broadhead (7/8" wide is legal for hunting in most states) instead of the bodkin.

If you are making modern equipment, then a google search will lead you to all sorts of info on the subject of building arrows.  Three Rivers Archery may be a good place to start.

If you are a craftsman...then most material on the subject will seem elementary. ;)
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.
How to Cook It?  200° for 24hrs then 275° to 500° for 4hrs (depending on type), Cool for 12hr

Offline Auggie

• redneck engineer
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2008, 06:14:25 pm »
I would like to recommend the book,Bows&Arrows of the Native Americans by Jim Hamm. Its a good guide for arrows,bows quivers,strings,backings,just about covers it all. I believe horsefeathers has it,you can find them here on PA.