Author Topic: for those who have hunted with stone  (Read 9800 times)

Offline Blacktail

for those who have hunted with stone
« on: January 12, 2009, 10:52:20 pm »
this goes to people who have taken deer with stone...what kind of shape do you think works good for deer...i am thinking ones that are pointy might break before getting in to the goody spot....and if they are too wide i dont know if they will penetrate enough....so,what do you hunt with.john

Offline Blacktail

Re: for those who have hunted with stone
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 10:57:21 pm »
oh,i all want to ask...i have seen some points where they were notched from the sides and a notch on the base....what is the notching on the base for...like a cahokia...

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 12:02:02 am »
I am no expert but have taken a few species with stone points... my only suggestion would be get close, make sure the point is securely hafted and not too large for your setup...narrow is better, and if you shoot a turkey wait until it is facing away or at you.. their wings are like armor.. I had two points glance off of two different birds wing feathers at less than ten yards. with a sixty pound bow and six hundred grain arrows :( just my two cents worth.. hope it helps.. Hawk a/ho
IT IS BETTER TO LOSE WITH HONOR. THAN TO WIN THROUGH DECEPTION...

Mike "Hawk" Huston

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 06:28:50 am »
Altho it ant stone it is glass and the shape seemed to work just fine,like Hawk said get close and good shot placement is very important.No reason they won't do as good as steel if you follow those rules. :)
   Pappy

[attachment deleted by admin]
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline leapingbare

• http://www.flintknappers.com/jessewright/
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 07:17:11 am »