Author Topic: looking for stone in mn.  (Read 7729 times)

Offline sailordad

looking for stone in mn.
« on: January 16, 2009, 12:04:45 am »
hi everyone,

well i am new to this whole knapping thing,infact so new i dont even have any tools or stone or knowledge as of yet.
i have been wanting to give this a try. i see all the cool stuff you guys can make and think damn,must be nice to be able to do that.
so i figured i would give it a whack.
i am starting to watch videos on you tube  and am trying to get a few things together.i know that i wont be able to find anyrock atleast untill spring.
however i was wondering if anyone knows if and where in minnesota a person can find knappible rock.
any help is appreciated.

peace,
                                                                                             tim
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline billy

Re: looking for stone in mn.
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2009, 12:26:55 am »
Hey Tim,

Not familiar with knappable stone in MN, but you can always practice on the bottoms of beer/wine bottles.  They're plentiful and you can learn the technique without worrying about running out.  The larger bottles have bigger, thicker bottoms that can make good-sized points.  Wear leather gloves and protective glasses.  It';ll take some practice, but you'll make progress and soon you'll be making some mean points out of glass.  That stuff is really sharp and it'll work great. 
Marietta, Georgia

Offline sailordad

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 01:17:05 am »
what about granite?

we  have quarries all over this area

Offline stickbender

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2009, 02:57:59 am »