Author Topic: osage knots  (Read 5387 times)

Offline deersled

osage knots
« on: January 28, 2009, 07:11:38 am »
I'm new to all this, so bare with me. I've got an osage stave and a more experienced bowyer is helping me with a bow. The stave has knots that run perpendicular to the grain. They are anywhere from 1/2" to an inch long. My friend said he has never seen this type of knot. He says most knots look like little fire ant hills. He's also mentioned "pin knots", but has never seen this type of knot. Does this ring a bell to anyone and is there anything out of the ordinary to be concerned about. Some of them run to the edge of the stave and some dont. Thanks

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: osage knots
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 07:26:40 am »
Don't really ring a bell ,but I have seen all kinds of knots in Osage,most can be worked with or worked around,some pictures would help.Most Osage is known for knots.  :) But usually don't keep you from making a good bow from it. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline deersled

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 07:43:14 am »
I'll try to get some pics on here later. One other thing.....on the belly, on the opposite side of these knots is a dent. Looks like someone hit it with a hammer. On the exact opposite side of these knots.

Got some experience chasing a ring last night. Almost made it! Got down to the last foot of the stave and went right on thru the ring! Oh well, I needed something to do tonight.

Offline GregB

• Greg Bagwell
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 07:56:14 am »
When you lay your bow out on the stave, I'd try to advoid cutting through a knot or having on right on the edge of your limb. The very worse one's you might either try and advoid or if possible put in your handle area (non-bending).
Greg

A rich person can be poor monetarily, the best things in life are free...

Offline TRACY