Author Topic: can anyone help me out?  (Read 5424 times)

tweeds

can anyone help me out?
« on: January 31, 2009, 11:10:06 pm »
Hi I am new to the message board.  I have a rock I would like to ID if anyone can help.

What I am triing to do is find enough flint or some rock that I can attempt to do some flintknapping and was wondering if this was what I was looking for.  I am a cubscout leader and wanted to find enough for the 12 of my boys to give this a try.  I don't want anyone to think for a minute that I think anyone can just pick up a piece of flint and do this skill.  I know it takes a long time to get good enough to even call yourself an ammitoure and don't  want to take anything away from those who are very good at the skill.  I just thought the boys would enjoy and see how hard it is to do something like this. Thanks in advance

Eric

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
Re: can anyone help me out?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2009, 11:40:47 pm »
PM wolf watcher, he knows rocks.. and is a master flintknapper..Hawk
IT IS BETTER TO LOSE WITH HONOR. THAN TO WIN THROUGH DECEPTION...

Mike "Hawk" Huston

Offline knap_123

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2009, 12:09:31 am »
were you from? this will help to identifi the possible stone. its kind of hard because it looks like any other river washed rock.  can you possible remove a flake from it?  on that last pic with the ridge, you can  strike it on the edge and a flake shouald remove.  color  and texture help to identify the stone as well.  another way is to pick up to possible  nodgules and tap them together.  the more glassier the ring sounds the better off you are.   but i  wouald  just emove a flake and you'll no for sure.  good luck, john

tweeds

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2009, 12:36:51 am »
I am from Erie, Pa, along the shore of Lake Erie
here is a picture after I chipped a piece away, the grey circle is where I chipped it

Offline leapingbare

• http://www.flintknappers.com/jessewright/