Author Topic: Intuitive shooting questions  (Read 10338 times)

Offline hedgeapple

Intuitive shooting questions
« on: February 09, 2009, 01:36:04 am »
From what I'm gathering from here is intuitive shooting is a very individual shooting style.  I'm new this type of shooting.  Right now I'm practicing with a cheap fiberglass, Wally World special I bought for my son years ago to bowfish with.  I am building a boardbow, and have staves to begin other bows as soon as I learn from the first.

My question:  Do any of you shoot with the bow at about a 45 degree angle?  I shool my wheelie vertically, but somehow the diagonal hold just seem right for me to shoot intuitively.  I've read that many Native American tribe shot that way.  But most shot from the chest.  I do bring the bow to an anchor point at my face.  Since I'm still learning, should I give up on this seemly natural way to hold a bow and learn to shoot it verticaly?
Dave   Richmond, KY
26" draw

troutbum76

Re: Intuitive shooting questions
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 01:49:07 am »
i am by no means an expert but i can tell you this. the angle you are talking about is called a cant. i think it would be safe to safe that most people shooting any kind of selfbow shoot this way. when shooting of your hand or off a small arrow shelf this angle keeps the arrow in place. i believe also that you should try different angles to find which gives you the best arrow flight. buy a good book and do some research on the net. before you even start try to hit any kind of mark on a target shoot very close to the target and develop good form. good form is the basis of good instinctive shooting. good luck hope some of this helped. keep at it, and practice as much as you can.

Offline hedgeapple

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 01:50:22 am »
Oops I should have put this in "shooting and hunting"  Moderator please move.  thanks
Dave   Richmond, KY
26" draw

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.