Author Topic: Bopping Chert - newbie  (Read 4784 times)

Offline BowKids

Bopping Chert - newbie
« on: February 19, 2009, 05:06:22 pm »
Hi all, I am a newbie knapper. Been bustin rock for a couple weeks with some hammer stones just to get the feel. Got some copper boppers recently and noticed that the chert digs into them. I set up a roughed up isolated platform and give it a 90 degree whack and it leaves a trace of copper on the rock, gouges the bopper. Is that the wrong tool or is that normal?

Found a lot of field chert where I live here in northern Missouri. Probably not the best quality but good for learning.

Offline xin

Re: Bopping Chert - newbie
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2009, 07:56:38 pm »
Use angles less than 90 degrees. You will then get some good flakes.

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2009, 09:37:19 pm »
Yup, ninety degrees is too shallow. You want to drive flakes through the stone to at least half way across for thinning. The stone will bite into the copper but that's ok. You need that copper to hold for just that split second to send the shock wave through the stone. Setting up platforms and getting the angles right are key. If you could find somebody to sit with or watch some videos you'd be lightyears ahead :).
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

PeteDavis

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2009, 09:57:24 pm »
Percussion's the hardest thing. I'm still in the stage of partial demolition. By the way, pressure's easily practiced on glass. Raw flint, makes a man of ya'. PD

Offline cowboy

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2009, 10:02:56 pm »
Durn, that's a nice point Mr.Pete :). Seems like I've watched you become one of the masters ;).
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

PeteDavis

« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2009, 10:23:07 pm »