Author Topic: Tuning a selfbow?  (Read 6129 times)

Offline Kegan

Tuning a selfbow?
« on: February 26, 2009, 06:48:12 pm »
Okay, Since you're bulding the bow, it's built you be shot however you finish it out as, correct? Final brace is what teh wood would settle at and what not.

Is there really anything you have to 'tune' besides arrows and nocking point with selfbows after you finish the thing out?

Offline hawkbow

• High Country Archer
Re: Tuning a selfbow?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 07:51:21 pm »
If the bow is ready and the arrows are spined to match...all you have to tune is your self ;D I believe training your muscles and eye to work as one, is a much overlooked aspect of true accuracy... But I am no expert by any means,  Hawk
IT IS BETTER TO LOSE WITH HONOR. THAN TO WIN THROUGH DECEPTION...

Mike "Hawk" Huston

whitewoodshunter

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 08:02:29 pm »
What about bare shaft tuning? There was a good article in the newest edition of PA about tuning.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2009, 08:05:27 pm »
Hawk is right. Once you put a string on and have it tillered out to full draw the bow is tuned. Arrow tuning is more important but that has to do with arrows not bows.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Jesse

« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2009, 09:29:03 pm »
I read that article about bare shaft tuning. when using this method I would think you need to shoot with the bow vertical to get the answers right? If you canted the bow hard it might look like you have a nock point issue when really its the arrow spine. Or am I wrong? I never tried it. 
"If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn't lead anywhere."
    --Frank A. Clark

Offline Kegan

« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 06:43:26 pm »