Author Topic: looking for a mentor  (Read 2008 times)

Offline sailordad

looking for a mentor
« on: March 01, 2009, 01:45:45 am »
      HI everyone,

well as most know i am very new to this whole knapping addiction,but i do enjoy it a lot.
i have a made a few crude point on my own.even went to my first knapp in a week a go.
watched some very very talented knappers in action,even bought some rock and some nice slabs of obsidion.
now i have been busting up some of the rocks and ending up with more gravel than i probably should be for the rock.
i would really like to learn proper techniques etc for knapping and learn how to do slabs and not just end up with a
bucket of gravel and waste all my resources.
i am looking for someone to teach me and be my knapping mentor.
i would be willing to drive a little ways to gain the knowledge i need so if there is anyone in or near the central minnesota area
please get in touch with me if your willing to teach a newbie ;D

peace,
                                                                                           tim
« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 02:02:40 am by sailordad »
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline stickbender

Re: looking for a mentor
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 01:19:23 am »

Tim, you might look up a rock club, or gem club, and there just might be a knapper in there, or they may know of someone. ;)