Author Topic: What exactly is a violation?  (Read 2515 times)

Offline Kenny H

• still learning!!!!!!!!!
What exactly is a violation?
« on: March 04, 2009, 12:57:07 am »
Hello, I have a question that may be dumb but I have tried to figure out what a violation is. I thought I knew but maybe I don't. I think it may be sanding or scraping into a ring? Is this even close? Or is it going against the grain? I haven't had the chance to chase a ring yet but I thought I would need to know for sure what this was before I tried because I think it may be very important in this operation of chasing a ring. Easy know cause I am new to this and I just don't want to be thinking the wrong thing and be doing something wrong.  Any help explaining this I would really appreciate. Thanks              Kenny
  I looked everywhere on Jawges site and I couldn't figure out what he was talking about.......
Kenneth Hughes

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: What exactly is a violation?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2009, 01:18:01 am »
kenny, a violation is what you described especially for a log stave.  Are you making a board bow? It can be a bit more complicated  for a board. Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Kenny H

• still learning!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2009, 02:03:26 am »
Yeah I want to know about both. If that is correct about the staves then what is it on boards? Someone said that my bow has some violations and Ive been trying to find them and haven't been able to figure out what they are talking about. Thanks for answering Jawge I was looking on your page and couldn't figure out what you was talking about. I will post pics of my bow all sides of it if someone would point them out and explain to me what they are.     Thanks      Kenny
Kenneth Hughes

Offline GregB

• Greg Bagwell
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2009, 08:11:32 am »