Author Topic: ugly points....  (Read 5143 times)

Offline billy

ugly points....
« on: March 13, 2009, 11:58:44 am »
For those of you who've just started chipping arrowheads, don't be embarrassed if you make some points that aren't so pretty.  This is a place for you to proudly display your "ugly" points. If you've got some pics of some of your ugly points, post them here!   I've been chipping arrowheads for about 20 years, and guess what....I still make some absolutely UGLY points.  Below is a picture of some of them.  Most of them were made out of really questionable pieces of stone that were thick and small, not leaving me much room to "beautify" the point.  Instead, I just tried to make a point out of the stone I had, and to hell with how it looked.  As you can see, they're asymmetrical, with uneven notches, bases, or edges, but that doesn't matter because they are all sharp.   These are points that will one day end up on my arrows and hopefully bring home some game.  Enjoy, and don't be embarrassed if you made an ugly point....cause even ugly points can be pretty! (although the beauty is sometimes hard to find   :) )

[attachment deleted by admin]
Marietta, Georgia

Offline Woodland Roamer

Re: ugly points....
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2009, 01:55:21 pm »
Dang I'd be happy to make any of those points Billy. They look really authentic and I especially like the white quartz one. I have an original from Florida that is almost a dead ringer of the one second from the right on the top row. Nice work.

Alan
Alan Shook-Taylorsville NC

Bring back the Stone Age!

Offline xin

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2009, 03:42:17 pm »
There are at four,maybe more,  that aren't so ugly.  In fact some of them are quite pretty.  Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  Wish most of mine came out that well.  Thanks for sharing.

Offline Timo

« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 09:30:45 am »