Author Topic: what should a newbie do with this?  (Read 2524 times)

Offline ozy clint

what should a newbie do with this?
« on: June 24, 2009, 12:44:30 am »
obsidian. about 4" long.

Offline DustinDees

• the kingdom of bahrain, deployed
Re: what should a newbie do with this?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 01:12:59 am »
ive only been knapping for a few months now so if im wrong this post may be veto'd entirely. if thats 4" long, then its about 2" wide... id run it through a rock saw make some slabs to chip on. (a tile saw will work also, but go slow and make sure the water is on) im not very good at percussion yet, so i wouldnt even attempt it with that piece. just my thoughts.

Dustin D
“Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.” – Epicurus
Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. That's Relativit

Offline Newbow

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2009, 01:32:40 am »
That's not an ideal piece learn on.  By the time you get it thinned you won't have much left.  On the other hand, if you can get it sawn you should get a couple nice long blades out it.  No saw?  Save it for another time and look for better stuff.  Go here:  http://www.sonic.net/~dbieling/obsmap.html  and you'll get a map of major obsidian sources in California and several are not that far from you.  Good luck.

Offline aaron

« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2009, 12:04:51 pm »