Author Topic: ABO tools.  (Read 8857 times)

Offline StevenT

ABO tools.
« on: August 25, 2009, 05:47:47 pm »
I'm a newbie and still in the process of making my tools. I keep seeing references to ABO tools. What does ABO stand for? Thanks

Offline n2everythg

Re: ABO tools.
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2009, 05:56:33 pm »
aboriginal tool. or how ever you spell it.

using tools the aboriginal people would have used.

Like rocks, horn, bone etc.

modern would be copper etc.

N2
East Coast of Nowhere

jreb

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2009, 05:58:19 pm »
Aboriginal - the way the natives did it making tools and points with  moose / deer billits , hammer stones , deer tine pressure flaker's etc.

Offline sailordad

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2009, 09:00:49 pm »
now i would have to think at some point in ancient time
man found a natural out cropping of copper and fond that it was good for knapping
so i would think copper could be considered ABO too
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2009, 11:08:58 pm »
The term "Abo" as defined among flintknappers is used specifically to mean "no copper"- it means using only organic percussors and flakers like wood, antler, bone, or hammerstones. Copper was used some in ancient times, even in NA-but not much. First, it only outcrops in pure form in a few places, second, you don't need it to knap, you can't do anything with copper that you can't do with stone, antler or wood; and third-copper was waaayyy too valuable to most NA cultures to use for tools. There's been a lot of copper found in Mississippian mounds around here, but very little of it was made into anything but ornaments and jewelry. A modern analogy would be making a knapping billet out of 24 carat gold. I bet it would work great, but it ain't gonna happen.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com