Author Topic: Antler tipped ishi stick.  (Read 7318 times)

Offline StevenT

Antler tipped ishi stick.
« on: August 27, 2009, 10:20:13 am »
If this is a stupid question  ??? , just say so. I know different tools work on different rock and in the different stages. I am very new to knapping and so far have had my best luck trying to run flakes with an ishi stick. However, I like the idea of using deer antler to pressure flake, I just haven't had much success at it yet. I have seen video's of people making a small rod out of deer antler and inserting it in the end of an ishi stick instead of copper. I am thinking about making one and giving it a try. I would have a couple questions: Has anyone done this and how did it work for you? Second, and this is part that may sound stupid: Is one part of a deer antler stronger than another part. In other words, if I am going to go through the effort of cutting out a long piece of antler and then going through the effort of shaping and sand it down to something the size of a pencil, I want to use the best part of the antler. Is there any one part or side that is the hardest? Thanks.

Offline DanaM

Re: Antler tipped ishi stick.
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 10:58:44 am »
Never used antler but I believe you want to use a tine or just the end of a tine inserted in a stick.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline madcrow

• Swift, Silent, and covered in wood shavings.
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2009, 12:41:30 pm »
Yep, the tips work great.  You can also add a set screw to the stick and make several points that are shaped different.  Kinda like a multi tool.  You can have tips that are flat, rounded, and pointy.

Offline D. Tiller

• Go ahead! Bend that stick! Make my day!!!
    • Whidbey Island Soap Co.
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2009, 02:08:08 pm »