Author Topic: Quick newcomer intro with a little help needed (pics)  (Read 2081 times)

Offline gmc

Quick newcomer intro with a little help needed (pics)
« on: October 05, 2009, 09:03:27 pm »
Quick Intro:
Hello Everyone. Been lurking around a bit and really love what's going on here. It’s good to see folks so responsive and friendly with this wonderful art. I am still relatively new to bow making been at it for about a year now.  I started with board bows last winter, building a few with some success and recently started with tree staves that I cut down during the spring, primarily Hickory. I am currently on bow number four since June trying to improve a little each time. That's my story and I look forward to learning a lot here. Btw, I have seen some pretty impressive work posted here.

Now I will jump straight into a question here if you guys don't mind. I am putting the finishing touches on a 65lb. 28@ 64'' ntn Hickory that I think may have chrysals. I know that Hickory is not so prone to the issue but darn I almost fainted after seeing this. I have only built one bow that developed stress fractures and that was my first bow killing it on the tiller tree.

I had to really work the sunlight to get a descent picture, very hard to capture. The shellac tends to show about everything and I hoping these might be just scrape marks but that’s probably wishful thinking. I did heat some reflex in to the other limb to balance it a bit (big ugly jump off the fade area on one limb as it dried) with no heat treat at the end. Tell me what you think, but break it to me gently. Here is some pictures of the bow. Thanks in advance, Greg.

« Last Edit: October 06, 2009, 12:15:39 am by gmc »
Central Kentucky

Offline gmc

Re: Quick newcommer intro with a little help needed (pics)
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 09:05:17 pm »
Central Kentucky

Offline gmc

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2009, 09:08:58 pm »
Central Kentucky

Offline gmc

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2009, 09:16:55 pm »