Author Topic: "BUCK FEVER"  (Read 6850 times)

Offline boo

"BUCK FEVER"
« on: September 20, 2009, 01:28:26 am »
I couldn't believe it. ive shot well over a hundred deer and 55 of them with a bow. I haven't had buck fever in twenty years. But this evening a small eight pointer ( a glorafide six point with 1 inch browtines) came in on me and i had buck fever so bad  he spooked because the arrow was bouncing on the shelf. It was the worst case Ive ever seen and it took me ten minutes to settle down. This is my first year hunting with 100 percent primitive equipment, plus Ive never shot a deer with a self bow so i figure that's the reason. Plus i was on the ground, using the selfbow Nugget made me and some flint heads Billy made for me on some self arrows i made. The buck was walking straight to me and didn't offer a shot till he was TEN YRDS, man was that a blast.All i can say is, im tickled to death to have the passion and desire back. For the last few years ive let numerous deer walk and only shot a few for meat because i didn't have the desire to shoot one unless it was a bigun. Killing deer was just work in my mind. But sense ive switched back to primitive, any deer is a trophy, its like starting all over again. It doesn't matter to me that i didnt shoot him, i still feel like i just shot a world record. Thanks TJ for lighting this fire again and making this possible.
Boo

Offline nugget

• I see, I hunt, I shoot, I eat
Re: "BUCK FEVER"
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2009, 09:30:48 am »
Man I wish I could have been there. That must have been exciting. Awesome day of hunting in my book.
You are welcome boo. If it were not for your influence I would not be doing all this anyways.
TJ
« Last Edit: September 20, 2009, 11:31:40 am by nugget »
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....WOW WHAT A RIDE!!