Author Topic: WHAT IS ARROW SPLINE+HOW 2 CHECK IT  (Read 12368 times)

WEEBOB

WHAT IS ARROW SPLINE+HOW 2 CHECK IT
« on: November 25, 2009, 12:09:20 pm »
THIS ROOKIE NEEDS INFO. ON ARROW SPLINE, HOW TO CHECK IT SO THE KIDS I'M TEACHING DON'T GET HURT, I'M NEW TO ARCHERY SO  SAFETY 1ST,  THANKS

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
Re: WHAT IS ARROW SPLINE+HOW 2 CHECK IT
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2009, 12:33:28 pm »
I believe the word you are looking for is spine. It is the stiffness of the arrow. Higher spine means a stiffer arrow. Arrows bend around the bow when they are shot, this is referred to as archers paradox. If an arrow is too stiff it won't bend around the bow and will hit off to the side. If it is too weak, it will hit the opposite direction. I hear they can even break although I have never seen this from an undamaged arrow.  It has to be measured with a spine tester.
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2009, 12:37:57 pm »
Search for spine and you will find all the reading material you need.
Here are a good one.
http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,1910.0.html
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

WEEBOB

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2009, 12:58:16 pm »
THANKS. THATS WHAT I NEED 2 KNOW . ANY ARROW SHOULD SHOOT SAFELY ON A 30# OR LESS BOW. AS LONG AS IT IS NOT CRACKED, JUST TARGET PRACTICE . IS WHAT I'M AFTER,AGAIN  THANKS

WEEBOB

« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2009, 01:01:03 pm »
OH BY THE WAY THATS Y I COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING ON SEARCH;;;I CAN'T SPELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SPINE?????????????????ROOKIE MISTAKE, SORRY

Offline Traxx

« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2009, 02:13:45 pm »
Actually,SPLINE is a proper term for archery,its just not what you were useing it for.Spline is the reinforcement slice, of another material, in the nock end of an arrow.

Offline Tom Leemans