Author Topic: New member intoduction  (Read 1681 times)

Kirkll

New member intoduction
« on: November 30, 2009, 12:10:00 pm »
Howdy folks,

This is my first post over here. So i thought i'd introduce myself with a little back ground. My name is Kirk. i'm an old carpenter by trade that leans more towards craftsmanship than the modern day title implies.

In the last 3 years of my self imposed bowyers apprenticeship, i have devoted myself to mastering this trade in all it's various forms. a lot of guys tell me i've been going about this  backwards by getting into glass and carbon backed, high performance stuff right out of the chute like i have. a lot of bowyers have told  me in the past that  self bows, or board bows are a good place to start out. Well that may vary well be true for some, but not for this old carpenter. i knew darn well what i was doing here. there is nothing very romantic about grinding lamination's, and  fiberglass.  And carbon is even nastier stuff yet to work with, but using composite materials has given insight to the unbelievable dynamics involved in building a bow.

i was always afraid to get into the fine art of building self bows to early, because i was afraid i wouldn't want to go back into building with composites again.....that still may hold true....

So now i've come to the root of the bowyers trade, and i think i'm ready to start this adventure. i look forward to getting to know some of you folks over here, and hopefully get some guidance in the art of manipulating wood under tension.

Sincerely,    Kirk

Offline knightd

• www.primalneedarchery.com
Re: New member intoduction
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 12:16:33 pm »
You can still build all wood lam bows along with self bows.. good to have you.. ;)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 12:21:50 pm »
Welcome aboard, Kirk. This is THE place to come to learn wood bow building.