Author Topic: Michael Roberts (El Destructo) Wins Feb BOM for Laminates  (Read 24255 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Michael Roberts (El Destructo) Wins Feb BOM for Laminates
« on: March 06, 2010, 12:38:17 am »
A Hickory backed Birdseye Wampanoag by Michael Roberts (El Destructo) of Stinnett, Texas
Receives the Nod for Laminate Bow of the Month for February

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,17497.60.html
This is quite the craftsmanship:
Well Deer Season is over...We got 14 inches of Snow...the City Plows ain't Plowing...so I hit the Garage Yesterday...and started on a Glue Up I put together this last Summer....It's an Air Dried Birdseye Maple Board from Upper Michigan....I backed it with Pignut Hickory for a little added Assurance against the massive amounts of fugue in the Maple....when I glued it up...I induced way too much Reflex... ...5 Inches to be exact! Anyways...I cut it out....and started drawknifing it late yesterday afternoon...and here is where I am at as of right now...I have it Tillered to 25 inches....at 65 pounds...I am shooting for 28 at 70 pounds...so I should have no problems there at all...I just hope that the Maple can take that kind of weight....we'll find out...eh! The Bow is 66 inches long 64 NTN.... 2 1/4" wide at the widest parts of the Paddles....It carrys 2 1/2" of Reflex after being Unstrung...and relaxing to 3" in less than an Hour...This was my first heavy reflexed Bow...and what difference there is in the Tillering Process...Man you have to go slow to make sure that you don't remove too much too fast! All in All ...this was a great learning Experience for Me....
And here is a lot of praise for real craftsmanship!