Author Topic: Range Shooting  (Read 5016 times)

Offline Diligence

Range Shooting
« on: March 01, 2010, 11:51:09 am »
Well, as some of you know, I am new to archery.  I had shot a compound for a couple of summers 20 years ago, but didn't pick up a bow again until last summer.

The only range I have easy access to is full of only compound shooters.  They have paper and 3D targets set-up indoor in an old barn (it's still winter here with snow on the ground).  The longest distance is 45 yards and the shortest was 8 yards from an elevated platform.  This past week, the remainder of the 3D targets were at 25 yards and out.  (some as large as Moose, elk and bear, and some as small as beavers and fox)

My question is this.....I want to participate in the 3D shoots, but the distance to the targets just seems so large.  When you all participate in 3D trad events, where are the targets generally placed?  Also, this particular range had many of the targets set up so that the arrow had to pass through a very narrow gate (say about 20" wide) at half the yardage to the target.  I know that in hunting situations, brush is an issue...but is this common for trad shoots?

My goal is to become a better archer, and I want to maximize my range time at is 30 miles from my house, but at the same time I also want to feel like I am "participating" in the club and not just firing away at paper all night long.

I'm reluctant to shoot at the long range targets because if I miss, there is a big chance of hitting some sort of wooden support and breaking my arrows (which I don't want to do as I make them myself, slowly...)

...I guess I'm looking at options that I might use to improve my shooting without being limited to just shooting the close range paper.  For your reference at 20 yards, my best group was 3 arrows inside 8", and my worst group was 3 arrows inside 24".....as you can, I have some work to do.